Sunday, November 6, 2011
Low or no certificate pilot. what aircraft is best? and best price?
same as the last question( my old email is attached to this account so i did not know the question had had a response) what type aircraft is best for my friend. who refuses to get his private pilot and wishes to fly something 2 seater. i was under the impression that the FAA called anything that was designed to have 2 pengers a light sport aircraft. also i (and my friend (the main thing we don't see eye to eye on is the private pilot or higher certificate) )do not feel that an aircraft built to ultralight specifications can be in the top 10 safest to be flying in our location. also i personally feel that the FAAs absence in the definition of required maintenance makes them more dangerous. as they do not require a certified mechanic and contrary to popular belief are not usually (if ever) lawnmower engines on a plane. engine failure is a HUGE danger to pilots who have had no instruction (as my friend will be and a good majority of the ultralight pilots i already know) while i totally understand peoples affection for them and see how they are a cost effective way to fly i do not feel an ultralight is safe. and i am positive that anything with 2 seats is a light sport aircraft. the FAA calls ultralights powered gliders in their laws search that in their laws and it should define it. but as to what he wants. yes a fixed wing preferably 2 seater. safe reliable cheap to maintain. and if it is an ultralight preferably a good one. all the deadly crashes at the local airport were ultralights. crosswinds on landing a mix of light planes and pilots with NO instruction on how to cope with the conditions. I will personally see to it that if the best for him to buy is an ultralight I WILL PERSONALLY give him the maximum amount of instruction can having flown with so many great private to multi-engine commercial pilots over the years(however minimal my maximum is). i appreciate your input on the subject. and he does not like STOL planes i dont know y. i would buy the zodiac today if i had the money.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment